Let me start off by getting something off my chest…

WOOHOOOOOO I’VE MADE IT TO HONG KONG!!!!

Phewww, now I feel better. It wasn’t that I was expecting to be running around like a headless chicken not knowing which gate I had to go to or how early to arrive (OK so I may have been worried about that just a little), but I was more worried about getting to Hong Kong and not understanding their process.

For the past few years I’ve taken a couple of plane journeys throughout the year so I should be used to the airport formalities. Though I still find it so daunting on the day. It didn’t help my nerves that I woke up to an email informing me that my flight had been delayed an hour.

IMG_8373

In all honesty it was a blessing in disguise as it allowed me to take my time once I arrived at the airport and gave me more time to spend with mum at home and also my chauffeur who goes by the name of dad.

After filling my belly with a big beef burger and a side of fries, it was time to go through customs. For the first time in, say, about, EVER, the officers didn’t ask to search inside my bag meaning that it went through the scans without looking dodgy.

Now enter the part of the day that has me a little on edge.

Believe it or not, I’m not a guy that gets nervous easy. The emotions I went through today with saying goodbyes, the delays and the feeling of not seeing London for a year, would sum up the emotions I would expect in a year of my life. But here I was. standing in front of a departure board that didn’t have a gate number.

I soon noticed that it stated a specific time for departure. Fifth-teen minutes away. To my amazing, I noticed chairs that had usb sockets built into them. Yes, it’s the simple things in life that excites me. After purchasing some on flight snacks in order to avoid plane food at all costs, the boarding time soon approached. However, something was wrong. There was still no gate number.

OK seriously what’s going on?

Just to make sure I wasn’t looking at a dodgy electronic board I went to check another one. And another one. And another one after that. Turns out the first departure board wasn’t lying. After some agonising waiting, changing seats more than several times and some nervous visits to the toilets it was time. There was a boarding gate!

Once the plan got in the air my nerves subsided substantially. It was taken over by a different feeling…

Fuck, this is actually happening.

LTWA5714

I’m moving to a country that I have never been to half way around the world. Am I crazy for doing this? Probably. But it’s something I feel like I have to do. I know this is a cliche, but the thought of travelling has always occupied my mind since I was young.

It’s one of those things that I feel like I need to do in order to satisfy an ever growing desire that has found a home in me. To experience what our world has to offer outside our own norm.

So here I am. Sitting in a departure lounge in Hong Kong airport looking out into the far mountains that surrounds the airport. Filled with a great movie (if you haven’t seen The Big Short then you really should, why didn’t that movie get more recognition?), some sleep and 6 episodes of The Big Bang Theory, the 10-hour flight went by rather quickly.

Now ahead of me is a 12-hour flight to Auckland where I face the only other obstacle that generated a peak in my nerves. The hostel situation.

Wish me luck.

